Week Ten – Internal Detailing Update

I’ve been spending most of my time on CAD programs more than in the workshop, and I would very much like to make as much progress as possible with my aesthetic model, so next week will be split more evenly between the two.

The internal detailing of the components is coming along nicely, and I’ve gotten confirmation from the lectures that the components below can be manufactured using the Injection Moulding process, albeit more work is necessary in order to keep them together. If I use snap fittings, it would require double the amount of side action, whereas if I use a fastening (metal, nylon), it would drive down costs while still allowing the components to be disassembled. There are a lot of decisions that have to be made very quickly:

Keep in mind that I am still a novice at ribbing and bossing, however I am actively seeking feedback to ensure that nothing goes wrong.

Leave a Reply

