Week Six – Aesthetic Notes

I feel that I should talk a little bit about the path my product took in terms of aesthetics. As has been the case throughout my entire project, one of my product’s main aims was to educate those using it on how to grow their own kitchen garden, furnishing them with a set of transferable skills that they may take to an allotment or garden if the so wish. Another aspect was to encourage people to get involved in growing their own kitchen garden, even though they lacked the space or time. The aesthetic had to reflect this, maximising space, yet giving people the nudge in the right direction when it came to decision making, without forcing or persuading them to do so. Another secondary aim of my product was born from a meeting with an external lecturer whose name escapes me. He mentioned how there are two schools of gardeners (among others) out there, one of which were resilience gardeners. This was not the direction I wanted my product to take, but he also spoke about how, if this product could be appealing to younger people, parents and children could get involved growing their own kitchen garden, which in turn would significantly add value to the product, while also allowing people to bond and work together. Another issue that factored into the aesthetic of this product was the manufacturing processes involved. After speaking with another external lecturer whose name escapes me, although I think it was Mark, he was convinced that this would be a mass market product, which gave me a free ticket to choose my manufacturing methods. Further related to the aesthetics is the material usage. There must be some element of sustainability inherent in this product, hence the decision to use sustainably sourced bamboo fibre pulp for the pots. Taking everything above into account, I felt that the aesthetic must be inviting, assisting, make maximum use of space, and designed so that the plants grown lend themselves to the overall aesthetic.

While I feel that I am very close to achieving this in relation to the pots and beds, the workstation and wall bracket had been somewhat neglected. In the weeks leading up to the final aesthetic deadline, and after speaking with my Design Tutor, Muireann, there were two ways that this section could be designed: Ornate or invisible. After spending a great amount of time trying to go the ornate route, it suddenly clicked that there was no reason why this had to be needlessly complicated. Hence the current design which was in my last post, and next one once I render it better.

The frame as it stands is simple, clean, and the curves replicate that of the sides of the planting beds:

Overall I feel that this simple design accomplishes what the ornate, needlessly complicated ones could not.

Leave a Reply

